the illustrated log of books and films (i)

IMG_0269

Last year, I started a personal project of sorts under the hashtag #the100dayproject, a challenge for creatives to make something over 100 days started by @elleluna and share it over on Instagram. I named it “The Illustrator Log of Books and Films”, intended to be a visual catalog of the films and books I have enjoyed, recent or otherwise. I made a set of 100 small 8x8cm cards to paint these on and managed to illustrate one consistently for about two weeks before life and stuff happened, and this project took a hiatus. This year I’m joining the challenge again to finish what I started. Here is the series so far (see my notes on each piece on my Instagram).

(L-R)

  1. The Solitaire Mystery by Jostein Gaarder
  2. Amelie (2001)
  3. Tropic of Cancer by Henry Miller
  4. Before Sunrise (1995)
  5. A Little Life by Hanya Yanagihara
  6. Good Will Hunting (1997)
  7. Brand Thinking by Debbie Millman
  8. In the Mood for Love (2000)
  9. The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde
  10. +
  11. Léon the Professional (1994)
  12. Burning in Water, Drowning in Flame by Charles Bukowski
  13. Moonrise Kingdom (2012)
  14. Beauty and the Beast (1991)
  15. In the Company of Women by Grace Bonney
  16. Whip It (2009)
Let me know what you think!

